Lawmakers Considering Sick Leave Law
Lawmakers in New Jersey are considering passing a
statewide law to make businesses provide earned sick leave
to all of their employees.
The two bills (Bill
making their way through the legislature calls for employees
to earn one hour of earned sick leave for every 30 hours
worked. For a
small employer (i.e. employer with 10 or less employees),
employees will not be allowed to accumulate and carry
forward more than 40 hours of earned sick leave from one
year to the next.
For large employers (i.e. employers with more than 10
employees), employees will not be allowed to accumulate and
carry forward more than 72 hours of earned sick leave from
one year to the next.
Employees will be allowed to use the sick leave for
personal medical care, to aid or care for a family member,
domestic violence, provide child care, etc.
A violation of the act will result in a misdemeanor charge
New Jersey State Wage and Hour Law,” P.L.1966, c.113
(C.34:11-56a22, 56a24 & 56a25 et seq.) .
Employers shall be guilty of a disorderly persons
offense and shall, upon conviction for a first violation, be
punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than
$1,000 or by imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than
90 days or by both the fine and imprisonment and, upon
conviction for a second or subsequent violation, be punished
by a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 or by
imprisonment for not less than 10 nor more than 100 days or
by both the fine and imprisonment. Each week, in any day of
which an employee is paid less than the rate applicable to
him under this act or under a minimum fair wage order, and
each employee so paid, shall constitute a separate offense.
Additionally, when the Commissioner of Labor finds that an
individual has violated that act, the commissioner is
authorized to assess and collect administrative penalties,
up to a maximum of $250 for a first violation and up to a
maximum of $500 for each subsequent violation.
If found guilty in civil court the employer could be made
to pay the full amount as well as costs and such reasonable
attorney's fees as may be allowed by the court.
New Jersey State Wage and
Hour Law,” P.L.1966, c.113 (C.34:11-56a22, 56a24 & 56a25 et