INTERNET MARKETING

 

 
INTERNET MARKETING

2019 Minimum Wage Increases (Jan 2019)

Federal Contractors Have To Pay Higher Wages in 2019 (Jan 2019)

New Workplace Anti-Harassment Laws for 2019 (Jan 2019)

Blog SEO Checklist: 28 Things to Consider

How to Start a Successful Clothing Brand or Clothing Line From Scratch: The Definitive Guide (2019)

IRS Standard Mileage Rates for 2019 See Increase and a Major Change
 States With No Corporate Income Tax Rate
Nevada
South Dakota
Texas
Washington
Wyoming 
States With No Personal Income Tax
Alaska
Florida
Nevada
South Dakota
Texas
Washington
Wyoming
States With No Corporate or Personal Income Tax Rate
Nevada
South Dakota
Texas
Washington
Wyoming
Key Economic Indicators 
Item  Rate 
CPI: -0.1% (Dec 2018) 
GDP Growth:   3.4% (3rd QTR 2018)
Bank Prime Interest Rate:   5.5%
Consumer Confidence:  128.1% (Dec 2018) 
Small Biz Confidence:  104.4% (Dec 2018) 
Avg Gas Price:  $2.23 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SMALL BUSINESS NEWS

Dec 2018

 

Email this page    

 

NJ Plastic Bag Ban Coming Soon

A California style plastic bag ban will be coming to New Jersey soon.

 

The new Governor (Phil Murphy) vetoed a bill that was would have created a five-cent sales tax on plastic and paper disposable bags because he wants stricter measures imposed.

 

Hence, a new bill is making its way through the New Jersey legislature.  The new bill would ban stores from handing out single-use plastic shopping bags, plastic drinking straws and polystyrene food containers (like foam takeout clamshells) from being used in New Jersey.

 

The new bill also would also create a 10-cent fee on single-use paper bags, with five(5) cents being sent back to the store operators.

 

Under the new bill, any food service business or store that has more than 1,000 square feet of retail space would be banned from handing out single-use plastic bags.  Exceptions are made non-handled bags made of plastic film, like the ones found in produce aisles.

 

Businesses that violate the proposed regulations would face up to $5,000 for each offense. 

 

A few towns in New Jersey already have regulations like the ones proposed in the bill.

 

The statewide ban would go into effect one year after being signed into law.

 

You can follow the progress of the bill here: NJ S2776 - Bill Status.

Sources:
NJ S2776 - Bill Status
NJ S2776 - Bill Text

By Wendy Stewart

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

  
 

SBZ Home

News Home

Extra News Home

  

  

     
INTERNET MARKETING

                  Report broken links               Contact us              About us           Become a Contributor to this site            Link Exchange 

2012-2015 The Small Business Zone, Inc.  All rights reserved.