Parent Leave Act
new law that goes into effect in California in 2018 will
require employers to offer their employees family/parental
Specifically, SB 63 would allow employees who work for a
company with 20 or more employees, within a 75-mile radius,
to take up to 12 weeks of job-protected leave to care for a
This measure will benefit up to 2.7 million more
Californians, but only affect 6 percent of the businesses.
While on leave the employer must maintain the employees’
health insurance. To be eligible for the leave the employee
must have worked for the company for at least a year and for
at least half- time.
Under current law in California only those who work for an
employer of 50 or more are eligible for job-protected
Like California these other states also have Family and
Parental Leave laws.
The District of Columbia Family and Medical Leave Act
(DCFMLA) requires employers with 20 or more employees to
provide eligible employees with 16 weeks of unpaid family
leave and 16 weeks of unpaid medical leave during a 24 month
Private sector employers with 15 or more employees at one
location within the state.
Employees who have worked for the same employer for
12 consecutive months are may take up to 10 weeks of unpaid
family medical leave in any two-year period. More or less
leave may be negotiated between employee and employer.
Family medical leave applies to domestic partner
relationships as well as married couples.
Private-sector employers in Massachusetts with 50 or more
employees must give their employees family leave.
Employers must give their employees up to up to 12
weeks of job-protected, unpaid leave during any 12-month
The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) provides up to 12
weeks of job-protected leave to eligible employees for
certain family and medical reasons. Employees are entitled
to up to 26 weeks of job-protected leave to care for a
covered service member with a serious injury or illness.
Same-sex married spouse are also entitled to this
Employers must give their employees up to 12 weeks of family
leave within any one-year period.
Employers are required to give their employees thirteen (13)
consecutive work weeks of parental leave or family leave in
any two (2) calendar years.
"Parental leave" means leave by reason of (1) the
birth of a child of an employee, or (2) the placement of a
child sixteen (16) years of age or less with an employee in
connection with the adoption of such child by the employee.
"Family member" means a parent, spouse, child,
mother-in-law, father-in-law, or the employee him or
"Family leave" means leave by reason of the serious illness
of a family member.
Employers who have 50 or more employees with a 75 mile
radius have to provide Family and Medical Leave to their
the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA),
Washington’s Family Leave Act (FLA) provides up to 12 weeks
of protected leave in a 12-month period for eligible
employees. To be eligible, an employee must be employed at
least 12 months with the employer and must have worked 1,250
hours in the 12-month period preceding the requested leave.
Employers in New York with one or more employees must
provide their employees paid time off for 8 weeks in 2018,
increasing to 12 weeks by 2021.
California New Parent Leave Act